This delightful 18th century manor is set on 350 acres of park land, twelve miles north of the city centre, and boasts one of the finest Georgian interiors in Ireland. Each room open to the public has its own style of antique and original furniture - indeed the house appears more or less as it did 150 years ago.
The house was built in 1737, to a design by Richard Castle, for the Archbishop of Dublin, and contains elaborate stucco plaster-work by Robert West. The period atmostphere of the house is further accentuated by the presence of a fully restored courtyard, surrounded by: a dairy, estates worker's house, carpenter's shop and a blacksmith's forge; all displaying nineteenth -century tools and implements.
The grounds also contain a twenty-nine acre traditional farm, complete with farmyard animals, a delight to any young visitor and perfect for school tours and large groups.
Location: 19km (12mi) north of Dublin City on the N1.
Public Transport: 33B Bus from Eden Quay, Dublin City. Suburban Rail from Connolly Station.
Opening Hours: Newbridge House and Farm are open from April to September Tues. to Saturday 10.00 to 5.00 pm Sunday and Public Holidays 12.00 to 6.00pm. From 1st October to end of March we are open Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays 12.00 to 5.00 p.m.
We also open outside the above hours for Groups. Thereis a minimum charge.
Note: Map is an approximate indication ONLY. Please contact Newbridge House and Farm for directions and precise location prior to your visit.